As a reminder and a follow-up to my previous article, Texting while driving ban ineffective? Test your skills , Kentucky State Police will begin issuing citations this weekend for those in violation of the new Kentucky texting-while-driving law.
The new law goes into effect this Saturday, January 1, 2011. If you need a little background, below is a quick overview - special attention for those that are under the age of 18.
On July 15, 2010 Kentucky officially enacted a law that prevents those under the age of 18 of using any type of communication device such as a mobile device or pager, while the vehicle is in motion. If using it for GPS purposes, the vehicle must be stopped, prior to typing or utilizing the device to input directions. For those over 18, law allows the use of global positioning devices and reading, selecting or entering a telephone number or name for the purpose of making a phone call. Texting is allowed only to report illegal activity or to request medical or emergency aid. Law enforcement officers will issue warnings until January 2011. After that, you will face fines of $25 for a first offense and $50 for each after that.
Just in case you haven't seen AT&T's newest no texting while driving ad, I've included it below. It's caused quite a stir. In the end, it's just not worth it.
Today's Tech Deal: Requiring activation of a 2-year contract and new voice and data plans, AT&T Wireless cut prices by $50 on most of its selection of refurbished Apple iPhone 4 smartphones , all with free shipping.
Photo: Flickr/poka0059