Add Event My Events Log In

Upcoming Events


    Print this page
    Dallas, Texas - The University of Louisville has been chosen to win the 2004 Conference USA football championship, according to the league's head coaches. The Cardinals received 106 of a possible 121 points.

    Memphis was second with 101 points, Southern Miss placed third with 100 and TCU ranked fourth with 99.

    The last time the Cardinals won the C-USA title was back during the 2001 season.

    The Cardinals finished 9-4 last season and is fueled by one of the most explosive offenses in the country. Nine starters return to an offensive unit that led C-USA in total offense (521.4 yards per game) and scoring offense (36.1 points per game) in 2003.

    A pair of first team All-Conference performers from last year, QB Stefan LeFors and WR J.R. Russell, are joined on the preseason all-league offense by LT Travis Leffew. Cardinals DE Marcus Jones also received preseason recognition.

    LeFors guided the Cardinal attack by throwing for 3,145 yards and 17 touchdowns, while Russell caught 75 passes for a school record 1,213 yards. Jones guided the Cardinal defense with a team-high 10 sacks.

    The Cardinals begin practice on August 9.

    Predicted Order of Finish (1st place votes) Pts.
    1. Louisville (2) 106
    2. Memphis (3) 101
    3. Southern Miss (2) 100
    4. TCU (4) 99
    5. Houston 70
    6. UAB 61
    7. USF 56
    8. Cincinnati 45
    9. Tulane 39
    10. East Carolina 37
    11. Army 12

    First Team Offense
    QB Stefan LeFors, Louisville
    RB Robert Merrill, TCU
    RB DeAngelo Williams, Memphis
    OL Anthony Alabi, TCU
    OL Chase Johnson, TCU
    OL Travis Leffew, Louisville
    OL Jeremy Parquet, Southern Miss
    OL Kyle Takavitz, Cincinnati
    WR Maurice Avery, Memphis
    WR J.R. Russell, Louisville
    WR Roydell Williams, Tulane
    TE Stephen Cucci, Houston

    First Team Defense
    DL Joe Clay, Houston
    DL Trent Cole, Cincinnati
    DL Andre Frazier, Cincinnati
    DL Marcus Jones, Louisville
    LB Michael Boley, Southern Miss
    LB Chris Moore, East Carolina
    LB Zac Woodfin, UAB
    DB Tra Boger, Tulane
    DB Marvin Godbolt, TCU
    DB Daven Holly, Cincinnati
    DB Wesley Smith, Memphis
    DB Mark Walker, TCU

    First Team Special Teams
    K Nick Hayes, UAB
    P Ryan Dougherty, East Carolina
    KR John Eubanks, Southern Miss
    PR Marvin Young, Southern Miss

    Offensive Player of the Year
    DeAngelo Williams, RB, Memphis

    Defensive Player of the Year
    Michael Boley, LB, Southern Miss

    Special Teams Player of the Year
    John Eubanks, KR, Southern Miss

    Share On:


    Voting Open!

    Upcoming Events

      Event Finder

      Louisville Real Estate with Joe Hayden, Your Real Estate Expert!