Add Event My Events Log In

Upcoming Events


    Print this page

    Louisville rockers My Morning Jacket have announced the first batch of details for their new album and tour cycle. MMJ will release The Waterfall on May 4 (coincidentally the same day as Mumford & Sons's new release). This album is the 7th is the band's career but their first since signed to Capitol Records. Along with release date, the group has announced cover art and tour dates. The lead single "Big Decisions" was released last week.

    Fans who pre-order the album – available at the band's website, iTunes and Amazon – will receive an instant download of the track.

    The Waterfall was recorded in Northern California's Stinson Beach, Portland, Oregon, and here in Louisville. The sessions led to 24 tracks but it sounds like they aren't withholding any of them because another album is on its way in 2016. 

    The Waterfall Track List:

    1."Believe (Nobody Knows)"
    2."Compound Fracture"
    3."Like A River"
    4."In Its Infancy (The Waterfall)"
    5."Get The Point"
    6."Spring (Among the Living)"
    7."Thin Line"
    8."Big Decisions"
    9."Tropics (Erase Traces)"
    10."Only Memories Remain"

    My Morning Jacket's U.S. and Europe tour stretches from May to September and look to connect the dots between major festivals they are playing including Hangout, Boston Calling, Governor's Ball, Bonnaroo, and Louisville's own Forecastle. Forecastle's daily schedule is not out so it remains to be seen which day MMJ will play. 

    Photos courtesy of Rolling Stone. Band photo by Danny Clinch. 

    Will Ford's picture

    About Will Ford

    Covering Louisville music like it's the 6 o' clock news. I've covered Forecastle, Louder Than Life, Moontower, Starry Nights, and Louisville music news for 3 years. Follow me @parasiticnoise

    More from author:    

    Share On: